horse racing shares logo

238 nominations for 2014 Ballarat Cup Day

Racing News

ballarat-racing-01The Ballarat Turf Club received a total of 238 nominations for its 10-race Ballarat Cup meeting on Saturday.

Group 2 Zipping Classic runner-up Epingle heads 35 entries for the 2014 Ballarat Cup (2200m) on Saturday 22nd November 2014 at Ballarat racecourse in Ballarat.

The Pins mare is trained at Cranbourne by Mick Kent and has been nominated alongside stables mates Scratchy Bottom and You Think So.

At First Sight, Hurdy Gurdy Man and Mobaco have been entered by the state’s premier trainer and local hope for the Cup, Darren Weir, with At First Sight appearing his best chance following his last start runner-up finish in the Ararat Cup (2000m) earlier this month.

Gai Waterhouse 4yo Pheidon is also entered off the back of his Group 3 Eclipse Stakes second last Saturday at Sandown.

The in form David Hayes & Tom Dabernig stable nominated Motivado, while the Peter Moody yard entered Cadillac Mountain, Fat Al and In Masquerade.

Other nominations include Count of Limonade and Tango’s Daughter for Mick Price and Electric Fusion and Spinderbella for Robert Smerdon.

Local trainer Dan O’Sullivan has nominated Tuscan Fire, a last start fourth placegetter in the Cup Day Plate (1800m) at Flemington on Melbourne Cup day.

In other features races on Ballarat Cup day, the Magic Millions Clockwise Classic (1000m) and Magic Millions 3YO Classic (1100m) both received 10 entries, with the Thomas Jewellers VOBIS Gold Eureka Stockade (1400m) attracting 18 nominations.

2015 Ballarat Cup nominations

# Horse Trainer
1 The Inventor Bevan Laming
2 Vilanova (Nz) Chris Waller
3 Cadel Triomphe (Nz) Colin Little
4 Phantom Brew (Nz) Colin Little
5 Tuscan Fire Dan O’Sullivan
6 At First Sight (Ire) Darren Weir
7 Hurdy Gurdy Man Darren Weir
8 Mobaco (Fr) Darren Weir
9 Motivado (Gb) David Hayes & Tom Dabernig
10 Waltzing To Win David Huxtable
11 Pheidon Gai Waterhouse
12 Terai John O’Shea
13 Bring Back Mark Ashby
14 Escado Matt Laurie
15 Rialya Matt Laurie
16 Epingle (Nz) Michael Kent
17 Scratchy Bottom Michael Kent
18 You Think So (Nz) Michael Kent
19 Tanby Mick Cerchi
20 Count Of Limonade (Ire) Mick Price
21 Tango’S Daughter Mick Price
22 Shenzhou Steeds (Nz) Mitchell Freedman
23 St Issey (Nz) Pat Hyland
24 Mujadale Paul A Jones
25 Cadillac Mountain Peter G Moody
26 Fat Al Peter G Moody
27 In Masquerade (Nz) Peter G Moody
28 Hvasstan Peter Gelagotis
29 Massiyn (Ire) Robert Hickmott
30 Electric Fusion Robert Smerdon
31 Spinderbella Robert Smerdon
32 Master’S Degree Steven Lake
33 Great Lane Symon Wilde
34 Happy As Hell Terry & Karina O’Sullivan
35 Sysmo (Fr) Tony McEvoy

Weights will be declared tomorrow (Tuesday) and acceptances for the 2014 Ballarat Cup meeting will be released on Wednesday 19th November 2014.

Tickets are still available for Cup Day and contact the Ballarat Turf Club for all ticketing & dining options.

Related Posts